Happy New Year!

Happy New Year to you and yours – lovely people reading my blog! Has it got off to a good start? Mine got off to a sore-headed one. For the first time in a few years, we actually stayed up and drank in the new year with friends and family. This was fun.

Got woken abruptly by a daughter who had chosen that particular day to re-discover her toy microphone, and stand by our bed shouting “WAKE UP BANANA HEADS” through it. This was not fun.

Bleary eyed and hair askew I was then dragged in to her room and made to reprimand the “cheeky ghost” that had apparently pulled the bobble out of her plaits during the night. (Things veering smoothing from ‘not fun’ to just plain weird.)

But God bless paracetamol and rehydration sachets! (Top hangover tip there folks: you’re welcome) and we spent a lovely day with family, involving the burning of a solstice Yule log, haggis, The Sound of Music and chocolate. (I never said my family were normal…lovely, but definitely not normal.)

This year, I will not be making any resolutions but I will be pinning this -my new mantra for 2014 – up somewhere:

20140102-094041.jpg

It pretty much covers it. Do you do resolutions?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Sounds like you had fun. No resolution for me as when I don’t achieve them or they broken I feel guilty. I do plan to write more but not to feel any pressure to do this as this takes away the fun or it. I have save your mantra to my computer as I will find this useful too. It will remind me to work towards my goals, short and long term ones and doesn’t put too much pressure on me to achieve.

  2. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
    what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any points for first-time blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

