The Pre Butlins Post

I have packing to do this weekend! Ask me why . . . Go on.

Oh, ok I’ll tell you. WE’RE GOING TO BUTLINS! I know . . . Check us out with our retro-chic-old-school-why-go-abroad type of holiday choice!

For those that don’t remember, we were lucky enough to be chosen as official Butlins Ambassadors last year, which means we get to go and investigate exactly what a Butlins break entails these days, and then tell you guys all about it. I’m certainly curious as I never had a Butlins (or other holiday park) holiday when I was little. (I often liken my parents to Basil and Sybil Faulty – can you imagine a holiday park being their first choice for a week away? Exactly!)

Anyhoo – I will fess up and admit I have reservations – no pun intended there. I’m not one for crowds or queuing on a holiday, and I still can’t quite shake the mental picture I have of Hi-Di-Hi whenever I think of Butlins, so I’ll be reviewing as a complete and total novice to the whole experience – I think that may be a good thing though in terms of fresh eyes on a classic British institution and an honest reviewer.

The first thing my husband said when I told him we were going?

“BRILLIANT! Do they still do knobbly knees contests? I’d smash it!” (As someone who is privy to the sight of his pins on a daily basis, I can conform that he would indeed – “smash it”.)

20140524-091145.jpg

I’ve been doing some pre-holiday research and review reading before we go, and it’s made me laugh how many others have referred to the knobbly knees competitions of old. I guess this is why Butlins are getting the blogging community on board, to help spread the word about how much money has been spend on their sites and how far they have come since those days. When I have mentioned our forthcoming break to people who have actually been lately, the response has been massively favourable, and looking at the website, there’s no denying that it looks amazing for Gibby and not what I was expecting.

I’m personally excited about:

- The ballet class with Angelina Ballerina – toooooo cute!
– Splash Waterworld – looks amazing!

20140524-090642.jpg

- Meeting up with my family. My brother and family are Lincolnshire based and are coming over to see us. Great idea to allow visitors for the day!
– The sea. Oh I do like to be beside the seaside. I really, really do actually. There’s just something about a good old British seaside town! (Slight bias being from Cleethorpes!)
– The Scooby Doo show. Gibby loves a bit of Scooby.
– The spa! They have a spa and it looks sooooooo nice. Some Mummy time me things at some point.

20140524-090817.jpg

- Work has been so hectic both for me and Mr WaterBirthPlease lately. I’m excited about this one being all about Gibby and about being together as a family. (Apart from when I’m at the spa – obviously!)

I have reservations about:

- The queues for the shows, or not getting into them if its too busy. Nothing worse that a disappointed child – I am aware of the B-line scheme so may look into that (paying extra to be first in) but I personally find it a bit of a shame that budget dictates whether you get a good seat or not. Not everyone can stretch to the extra.

Actually – I guess that’s my only reservation so far! It’ll be interesting to see what happens with regard to that.

Other than that? Well if you’re reading this Butlins, maybe some kind of retro night would be in order? WE WANT OUR KNOBBLY KNEES CONTESTS, DAMN IT!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Pre Butlins Post

  1. Have a ball, I’ve not been to Skeggy for a few years now but always had fun there. Mich x

Leave a Reply

