Music I want my kids to listen too. Part 2

I’ve been avoiding this link up for a couple of reasons.

  1. SO many great bands and artists have now been covered (Ben Folds, Violent Femmes, Pixies etc)
  2. I’m finding it really hard to whittle down in my mind who I’d pick.

So I though really hard. It’s because of Bob Dylan and Joan Baez that I learnt guitar (although I’m sure the rest of the world may not thank them!) and I can’t be a Mummy Blogger and not mention JB’s moving cover of  forever young. I defy any parent not to be moved by the lyrics – it sums up everything we want for our wee ones. I still have a love of folk but I won’t bore y’all with that one today! Rage against the machine and Radiohead got me through me teenage angst, The Stone Roses and Hendrix got me through my student days, I walked down the Isle on my wedding day to “The Final Countdown” and we walked back out as a married couple to Morcombe and Wise “Bring Me Sunshine”. I want Grace to hear all of these. God knows what she’ll think though! I can still remember the confusion when my Dad sat me down at an early age and insisted I listen to George Formby. “He’s a window cleaner that spies on ladies? I don’t like it Daddy!” 

But the biggy for me, if pushed to pick a favourite, would be the magnificent Tom Waits.  Described as having a voice “like it was soaked in a vat of bourbon, left hanging in the smokehouse for a few months, and then taken outside and run over with a car.” He’s a wizard of words and  just oooooozes cool. He’s done everything from beautiful ballads (Martha/Tom Traubert’s Blues), spoken word Jazz/paranoia (What’s he Building in There?) To just plain cool tunes (Chocolate Jesus/I Don’t wanna Grow Up)  His songs can be pretty, rousing, weird, quirky, sad, funny, moving, and rockin’ and I’m going to stick my neck out and say he’s probably one of the most diverse artists ever. He’s been covered by everyone, from Rod Stewart to the Violent Femmes. Stu proposed to my favourite song “Innocent when you Dream” and make no bones about it – I WILL be inflicting his music often, and loudly, upon all current and any future offspring! (Maybe not for a while though – I would have to concede that he aint all that kid-friendly.)

And in the meantime, I shall fantasize about being draped over his piano in a fabulous dress, martini in one hand, cigarette holder in the other (no ciggy of course – smoking’s bad for you apparently) and hollywood red lipstick, hanging on his every lyrical word and drinking in the magical sounds . . . .ahhhhh.

"I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy" Tom Waits

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Music I want my kids to listen too. Part 2

  1. Sounds like you have a sundtrack to your life so far there begging to be made! And can I have a copy because it sounds alot like mine? Oh the days of having time to make a mix tape eh?

    Love the draped over piano fantasy too. Every girl should have this opportunity at some point I reckon.

  2. I love the mixture of the music, you have listened too over the years. I too loved Radiohead, and I nearly put that as my post for last week. The song Karma police reminds of the time I meet my lovely OH.
    I am looking forward to listening to Tom Waits though, as we have similar music tastes as above!
    My Ipod is going to be busy.
    Bx

Leave a Reply

