Togetherness

“The dog was created especially for children. He is the god of frolic.”

This weeks theme for the wonderful Gallery is Togetherness. I’ve been meaning to blog about my boys for a while and this seemed the perfect opportunity . . .

Fizz and Badger – our dogs –  come and tell me when Grace is upset. They rest their head on my lap when I’M upset and never want to know why. They are joyful when we are, feel our sadness, adore us consistently despite all our faults, and are both infinitely patient with the overenthusiastic toddler that constantly wants a cuddle.

In turn, baby girl is learning a healthy respect for animals and is very gentle with them. When she isn’t as gentle as she could be  – they understand bless ’em and just give me an exasperated look. Being kind to the boys is something we have instilled from day one. And it’s paying off. She adores them and her current favourite place in the world is in the dog bed! (Ah well – good for the immunity I believe.)  

I grew up with Dogs and they were truly the best friends a little girl could have. (Do I sound a bit sad here? I did have actual people friends too – honest) but when I was upset, or when Mum and Dad were having another row, or when there was no-one about to play out with, I had the dogs. Always on hand with a loving wet nose to snuffle in your hand, or paw on your lap, or chin on your knee. And he will never ever ever EVER judge you.

I hope Grace makes lots of friends in her life. I hope she has a select few that are as special as some of mine. But right now, she is learning to build that wonderful canine-child relationship A relationship that very sadly, some hugley  irresponsible dog owners and bad press have many of us weary of. 

I don’t know what I’d do without our Dogs. Yes – they occasionally crap on the carpet/stuff their noses up random people’s crotches/destroy things/get really REALLY excited after a poo (what’s that about?) and bark at the most inopportune times (Nap time) but they are – essentially – absolute gentlemen.

“He is loyalty itself. He has taught me the meaning of devotion. With him, I know a secret comfort and a private peace. He has brought me understanding where before I was ignorant. His head on my knee can heal my human hurts. His presence by my side is protection against my fears of dark and unknown things. He has promised to wait for me… whenever… wherever – in case I need him. And I expect I will – as I always have. He is just my dog.”

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Togetherness

  1. Aww what a lovely gallery post. Makes me miss my childhood dogs. Babyzoid must experience this unconditional pooch love when she is a bit older (with maybe a kitty or 2 thrown in for good measure!)

    Touching and beautiful – what an amazing photo!

  2. Amen to that 🙂 Beautiful photo x

  3. Ah the love of a dog.. We have one like that.. Gets pulled from pillar to post, faithful Hoover, and child protector, he really is an amazing dog.. Tho crap at stopping burglars!

  4. really sweet photo and great words. I am not a ‘dog’ person but I think you could convince me.
    thanks for your comment; suggest the Cool Camping kids book. Or ukcampsite.co.uk – has loads of recommendations, worth reading what other people say and they tell you which ones takes dogs too! xxx

  5. Beautiful, cannot wait for Esther and William to have a dog. One day!

  6. Aaaaw that’s to gorgeous, what lovely words. Dogs are the best. The bit about getting excited after a poo really made me giggle 🙂 My dog ‘Betty’ isn’t long for this world *sniff*
    http://sahmlovingit.blogspot.com/2011/01/b-is-forbetty_31.html
    Thanks for sharing this xx

  7. Ah, what a gorgeous photo! Eva says she wants to come and play with Fizz too!
    XxX

  8. I LOVE this photo! You made me laugh about the immune system too, dirt rocks! (Does that sound funny?) I SO want DD to have a dog when she’s a bit older but OH is a cat man. Perhaps we’ll have to have both 😀

  9. Pingback: Petplan post – My Dogs Dream Holiday. | waterbirthplease

  10. Pingback: What I wish I’d known before owning a pet. | waterbirthplease

Leave a Reply

