NLP

I’ve always been a bit of a fan of NLP (get ME using the lingo there! For those that don’t know, it stands for Neuro Linguistic Programming.) It fascinates me. 

Neuro – what we think

Linguistic – what we communicate

Programming – How we process things.

 

Still with me? Good. NLP has been used in the past largely in the business world, providing the user with the skills to enhance leadership, built rapport, manage conflict and boost esteem.

Exactly the skills we need as parents, n’est pas?

Judy Bartkowiak has worked with children for many years as a nursery teacher and a market researcher conducting focus groups and interviews with mums and children. She is a mother herself, and is now the author of a new book “Be a Happier Parent With NLP.” I spoke to Judy over the phone concerning my struggles with Grace and her tantrums. What she told me during that phone consultation was new, fresh and positive. It made me think a lot about my own attitude towards the troubles we were having and how they were wearing me down. The fundamental thing would seem to lie in the heart of the fact that: we are our children’s models of excellence. We are their role models. If we are not coping well, lack confidence or show negativity, then our little sponges will soak up exactly that. Using NLP is all about changing this.

We have been sent the book to read and review. Even the title speaks volumes “How to be a Happier PARENT . . .” not “How to make your kids happy.”  After all, with one comes the other. If we feel happy and in control, then surely we are more likely to produce happier well-rounded children?

So, with this in mind, this post is a kind of “taster post” really for the review to come. I am currently reading the book and it is fascinating. Will it have the desired effects?

Watch this space . . .

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “NLP

  1. I am a big fan of NLP myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

