OH MY GOD THE SUNS OUT!

SUN! OH MY GOD THE SUNS OUT! SUMMER’S HERE: GET BUCKETS, SPADES, TOWELS, BALLS AND HEAD TO THE COAST QUICK BEFORE WE MISS IT!

Admittedly, summer thus far has been particularly pap – weather wise, but God, the nano second we get a sniff of a warm day we all go mental. We’re so . . . .well . . . British. Out in force, sod the suncream, buckets and spades brandished, bellies out and kids running amuck. And I include my own family in this by the way. We had the first nice day in what seemed like forever yesterday, and off we dutifully trooped to the seaside. Ice cream dribbled down fingers, sand castles were built, feet were buried, shoulders were burnt, and toddlers were discouraged from investigating suspicious looking objects bobbing about in the water.  

I wonder what our continental brethren make of us? As they sit in the shade dressed impeccably in cool linens and designer shades, eating olives and sipping Evian, we charge around like mad dogs in the midday sun, barbecuing our brains out.

Ah well “stuff  it” say I! We get so little sun these days that so what if we make the most of it? I salute the deck chair and the donkey ride! Long live tucking your skirt in your knickers for a paddle in questionable water! Praise be for the beer garden and the shameless displays of beer bellies. As I sit here, nursing my sunburn northern tan  and reflecting on the two whole days we’ve now spent outside, I hereby declare, that should the sun honour us humble Brits with its presence again, I’ll make the bloody most of it. Hell – I may even sport a knotted handkerchief!

ARE YOU WITH ME PEOPLE OF BRITAIN?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “OH MY GOD THE SUNS OUT!

  1. yes we were in Glasgow on Friday and there were various short clad topless torso’s blobbed everywhere.

  2. I’m with you! Although I hate seeing beer drinking bare chested old men at the park.
    XxX

  3. Curly Girl went on her first donkey ride this week and LOVED it. I’m with you, knotted hankies ahoy!

  4. Yesterday was lovely warm sunshine and blue skies, so despite my 5 yo insisting it was going to rain… I got the summery white trousers and vest top out. Once in town… My darling daughter was proven correct as I got caught in the most torrential downpour I have seen this year! Now the whole town has seen my underwear through my see-through white trousers and I looked like a royal Tw*t! Bring us more sunshine PURLEASE! xx

Leave a Reply

