Giblart

Remember the video I put on the last post? This one about Alex Wood and his brain injury:

Alex and Tamsyn’s Story

Well Grace watched it with me. Usually, I’m a bit of a wuss with exposing The Giblet to the more emotional aspects of life, but I felt very strongly that she should watch it. And watch it she did. Silently, cuddling, and attentively from start to finish (a rarity for the wee one – who is usually impossible to shut up).  When the video finished, she sat still and mulled things over for a minute, carefully watching me wipe my watery eyes. Knowing that what she had witnessed had affected her Mummy in some way, she had a lot of questions. Questions which finished up in a rather surprising attempt at a little Gibbly  solution.  Here’s how some of the conversation went:

“Mummy who was that man?”

“That’s Alex Grace.”

“Is he sick and poorly?”

“Yes he is. He’s hurt his head.”

“He hurt his head? Has he seen the doctor?”

“Yes he has, but he’s very sick and poorly. He needs lots of help from lots of doctors, and lots of other people too to try and get better.”

Long pause whilst this information is processed.

“Mummy can my help Alex? Can my paint him a picture? ”

“Er . . . well, yes! Yes of course you can, sweetheart. That’d be a really kind thing to do. ”

Urgently getting off the sofa. “Cummon Mummy! Painting for Alex!”

So a painting she did. And another. And another. And another. This was a Giblet on a mission, and although she loves painting, I’d never seen it hold her concentration for so long.

At first, I thought I’d post one of the pictures to Alex’s wife, the lovely Tamsyn (blogs as Anecdotes of a Manic Mum) for her to pass onto him. But seeing how determined my little girl was with this new project, I had a thought. If she wants to try and help, who on earth am I to stop her? She has asked to paint for Alex every day since seeing that post. She has named all her pictures. I have framed and put the titles on them. (These include: “Bubbles”, “Splashy Splashy”, “My Name – But in Colours”, “Pink Raining”, and many more.)

bubbles My Name Pink Raining Rainin SPLASH!Red Red Red

SO here’s the thing: if anyone would like to own their very own piece of Giblart (see what I did there) then get in touch! Follow the Facebook page to see what she’s up to. Message me, e-mail me, post on the wall. All I ask is that you make a donation to Making Waves for Alex in return, and keep spreading the word about this remarkable family, and Making Waves for Alex.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Giblart

  1. They are beautiful , beautiful pictures

  2. Sorry, comment went all spaffy there! Was going to say – would ebay be an idea for a charity auction type thing? We could all get together and go crazy with the social media stuff to promote it?

  3. everytime i see this i just get tears in my eyes…you should be SOproud (as i am sure you are) of your girl…she is incredible. something else. one in a million. and the name giblart is perfect!posh giblet!

    just lost for word at your little girl.

    xxxxx

  4. This is such a beautiful, wonderful and caring thing your little girl is doing for Alex. And you are such a lovely mum to help her with her mission. You’re both gorgeous! x

Leave a Reply

